Recurring EventAcclaimed Spring Play Production & Musical Theatre Weekend Workshops for ages 7 to 12 – Act! Sing! Dance! Live performance! FUN!
acclaimed spring play production -and- musical theatre weekend workshops for ages 7 to 12 act sing dance live performance fun
Clock Icon
Date & Time

9:00 am – 11:30 am

Saturday, February 09, 2019

Saturday, February 16, 2019

Saturday, February 23, 2019

Saturday, March 02, 2019

Saturday, March 09, 2019

Saturday, March 16, 2019

Saturday, March 23, 2019

Saturday, March 30, 2019

Saturday, April 06, 2019

Saturday, April 13, 2019

Saturday, April 20, 2019

Saturday, April 27, 2019

Saturday, May 04, 2019

Saturday, May 11, 2019

Saturday, May 18, 2019

Saturday, May 25, 2019

Show Additional Dates

Location Icon
Location

Santa Monica Playhouse

1211 4th Street

Santa Monica, CA 90401

Contact Info

310-394-9779 ext 3
[email protected]
For details and enrollment information, please visit http://www.santamonicaplayhouse.com/spring--fall-play-production.html

 

"Our daughter learned more about drama in one week with SMP than in all the productions she's ever done - put together. We're absolutely ecstatic!" raves educator Jennifer D. "I am continuously impressed! The workshops and plays are structured so that every child can be successful!" raves Becky C. Daily Variety calls it, "One of the best in the country!"

 

No small parts - no double or triple casting - every child receives a role written specifically for them, based on their creative input, highlighting their strengths and challenging them to excel in all theatre skills, including performance technique, teamwork, self-confidence, creative expression and communication, projection and enunciation, as well as reading and language comprehension, theatre etiquette, and a true appreciation for theatre arts. And small classes mean personal attention for every member.

 

Enrollment is open for the Spring session of this ever-popular workshop program, now in its 50th year, a fun experience that helps students expand their imagination as they act, sing, dance, play theatre games, improvise, work with costumes and make-up, lighting and sound, sets and props, and collaborate with professional playwrights and directors to create an awesome fully-staged original production with music, written just for them.

 

No experience needed, but even the most advanced young actor will benefit from this workshop. Classes meet weekly, Thursday afternoons (Feb 7-May 23) or Saturday mornings (Feb 9-May 25) – enrollment accepted through Feb 23. Ask about Spring Break and Summer Theatre Camps, the Summer Japan Theatre Adventure for ages 12 and up, and workshops for adults, too! Playhouse conservatory alumni include Kate Hudson, Zooey Deschanel, Emily Deschanel, Jason Ritter, Jason Segel, Obi Ndefo, Rina Mimoun, Cami Anderson (Time Magazine's 100 Most Influential People in the World) and Maroon 5's Mickey Madden, who calls the program "Great in so many ways!"