Hashtag Downtown Santa Monica
Hashtag Downtown Santa Monica
Recurring EventAcclaimed Spring Play Production & Musical Theatre Workshops for ages 7 to 12 and 12 to 17 – now enrolling
acclaimed spring play production -and- musical theatre workshops for ages 7 to 12 and 12 to 17 now enrolling
Clock Icon
Date & Time

9:00 am – 11:30 am

Saturday, February 10, 2018

Saturday, February 17, 2018

Saturday, February 24, 2018

Saturday, March 03, 2018

Saturday, March 10, 2018

Saturday, March 17, 2018

Saturday, March 24, 2018

Saturday, March 31, 2018

Saturday, April 07, 2018

Saturday, April 14, 2018

Saturday, April 21, 2018

Saturday, April 28, 2018

Saturday, May 05, 2018

Saturday, May 12, 2018

Saturday, May 19, 2018

Saturday, May 26, 2018

Show Additional Dates

Location Icon
Location

Santa Monica Playhouse

1211 4th Street

Santa Monica, CA 90401

Contact Info

310-394-9779

theatre@SantaMonicaPlayhouse.com

For enrollment information and more details please visit http://SantaMonicaPlayhouse.com

"Our daughter learned more about drama in one week with SMP than in all the productions she's ever done - put together. We're absolutely ecstatic!" raves educator J. Dohr. "I am continuously impressed! The workshops and plays are structured so that every child can be successful!" raves B. Clough. Daily Variety calls it, "One of the best in the country!" No small parts - no playing the second tree or third spear carrier – no double or triple casting - every child receives a role written specifically for them, based on their creative input, highlighting their strengths and challenging them to excel in all theatre skills, including performance technique, teamwork, self-confidence, creative expression and communication, projection and enunciation, as well as reading and language comprehension, theatre etiquette, and a true appreciation for theatre arts. And small classes mean personal attention for every member.

Enrollment is open for all Spring sessions of this ever-popular workshop program, now in its 49th year, a fun experience that helps students expand their imagination as they act, sing, dance, play theatre games, improvise, work with costumes and make-up, lighting and sound, sets and props, and collaborate with professional playwrights and directors to create an awesome fully-staged original production with music, written just for them. No experience needed, but even the most advanced young actor will benefit from this workshop.

Classes meet weekly, Thursday afternoons or Saturday mornings, February through May. Ask about Spring Break and Summer Theatre Camps, the Summer England Theatre Adventure for ages 12 and up, and workshops for adults, too!

Playhouse conservatory alumni include Kate Hudson, Zooey Deschanel, Emily Deschanel, Jason Ritter, Jason Segel, Obi Ndefo, Rina Mimoun, Cami Anderson (Time Magazine’s 100 Most Influential People in the World) and Maroon 5's Mickey Madden, who calls the program. "Great in so many ways!"